16 illegal polytechnics uncovered in Rivers, others

The Federal Government, through the National Board for Technical Education, has uncovered no fewer than 16 illegal polytechnics operating in the country.


The board also noted that students, who obtained diplomas from the institutions, would not be allowed to further their studies, gain employment or be mobilised for the mandatory National Youth Service Corps scheme.


In a report made available to newsmen, it was learnt that the NBTE had also informed security agencies to shut down the errant institutions.


The NBTE is the Federal Government agency domiciled in the Ministry of Education and responsible for the monitoring of polytechnics, monotechnics and innovation enterprise institutions.


The NBTE, which is statutorily mandated to regulate technical and vocational education in Nigeria, warned the general public, especially parents and prospective candidates, about some individuals and institutions admitting students to study courses in unapproved and illegal institutions and/or institutions running unapproved programmes purportedly affiliated to either approved or unapproved polytechnics.


The board pointed out that the institutions had not been licensed by the Federal Government and were operating illegally.

Website Designing/Management/Social Media – Iyanu Victor


It listed some of the affected institutions as Rufus Giwa Polytechnic, Owo (Ibillo and Ekiti study centres); Kano State College of Health Sciences and Technology, BUK; University of Ibadan Consultancy Services, Ladoke Akintola Technology, Ogbomosho; Kwara State University, Malete study centre; Awgu College of Medical Science and Health Technology, Awgu; Eastern Polytechnic, Port Harcourt (Abuja and Madalla study centres; Interlink Polytechnic, Ijebu-Jesa (Nyanya and Gwagwalada study centres); and Oke Ogun College of Management Science and Technology, Iseyin.


Others are First Mark Innovative School of Technology, Ado-Ekiti (Rufus Giwa Study Centre); Delight College of Health Science and Technology, Minna; Jama’atu School of Health Technology, Zaria; Kanam Unity College of Health Technology, Dengi; Savannah School of Health Technology, Wudil; Owoseni College of Health Sciences, Ijesa-Isu Ekiti; Southern Maritime Academy, Uwheru, Ughelli; Wolex Polytechnic, Ediene Ikot Obio Imo; Ibeku Polytechnic, Ibeku; and Atlas Polytechnic, Uzuakoli.


The country’s tertiary education sector has been riddled with challenges surrounding the establishment of illegal universities, colleges of education and polytechnics.

Certified French Tutor in Nigeria with Years of Experience – Ms Blessing Akpan

Follow Us On Telegram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *