AOCOED, MOCPED, LASPOTECH, now regarded as Universities

AOCOED, MOCPED, LASPOTECH, now regarded at Universities

Beginning from January, 2022, the trio of Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education ((AOCOED), Ijanikin, Lagos; Michael Otedola College of Primary Education (MOCPED), Noforija, Epe, Lagos, and Lagos State Polytechnic (LASPOTECH), Ikorodu, will formally assume their new status as universities.


The special adviser to Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State on education, Tokunbo Wahab, told PREMIUM TIMES in a telephone interview that the new bills seeking conversion of the three institutions to universities will be signed into law “latest mid January” by the governor.


According to Mr Wahab, the National Universities Commission (NUC), Nigeria’s regulatory agency for universities is currently awaiting the law for official recommendation, saying every other necessary document had been presented to the body by the government.


He said beginning from the new year the institutions would no longer admit fresh students for the existing Ordinary National Diploma (OND), Higher National Diploma (HND) and Nigerian Certificate of Education (NCE) awarding programmes “as they will be phased out until the last set of the current students graduates.”

“While the OND, HND and NCE programmes will be phased out gradually new students will be admitted into the universities for degree programmes,” he said.


Assembly passes law

On Wednesday, in two legislative bills, the Lagos State House of Assembly approved the upgrade of the institutions to universities with the Adeniran Ogunsaya College of Education and Michael Otedola College of Primary Education to become Lagos State University of Education while the Lagos State Polytechnic will now be known as Lagos State University of Science and Technology.


The governor’s adviser said the move is aimed at “improving quality assurance and removing the dichotomy in employability of polytechnic graduates vis-a-vis their counterparts in the universities.”


The assembly had in July debated two bills proposing the establishment of two universities; a University of Science and Technology, and a University of Education.

AOCOED, MOCPED, LASPOTECH, now regarded at Universities

After scaling the second reading, Speaker Mudashiru Obasa directed the House Committee on Education (Tertiary) to look into the bills for further considerations and report back to the house in two weeks.


Mr Wahab had in July, pointed out that Lagos State University (LASU), the only state-owned degree awarding institution, can no longer cope with the admission needs of the large student population in the state, hence, the need for the establishment of more universities.

He said when the two new universities commence operation, “they will add value to science, technology, vocational and entrepreneurship skills development needed for rapid socio-economic growth of the state and the nation at large”.


Recall, that the call to upgrade the Intitution had been on for a while.


However, the meeting by the House Committee on Education, (Tertiary Institutions) led by Ajani Owolabi, in July, set the motion for the actualisation of the upgrade.


In a statement signed by Owolabi, on Wednesday, the Committee on Education Chairman announced the change in status of one of Nigerian foremost colleges of education to a varsity.


Part of the statement titled: “Second allocated day for report of the Committee on Education (Tertiary Institutions) on a Bill for a Law to provide for the establishment of The University of Education, Lagos, (UNEDLAG) and for connected purposes” read:


“You would recall that the House at its Plenary Session of Thursday, July 1, considered the report of the Committee on Educabon on “the University of Education, Lagos Bill, 2021” after which a second allotted day was given to the Committee to resolve the grey areas observed by the House.


“Consequently, the Committee met and recommends as follows:



“(1) The definttion of ‘UNEDLAG’ be deleted and replaced wih ‘LASUED’ to mean ‘Lagos State University of Education”;

“(2) Clause 39 (1) be redrafted to read: “The University shall operate a Multi-Campus system with the main Campus in Adenran Ogunsanya, Otto/Ijanikin and its Annex at Micheal Otedola, Noforija, Epe and any other locations as may be determined by the Visitors or Council from time to time.”


The Committee expressed its gratitude to Mr. Speaker and members for the opportunity given it to carry out the assignment.


“We also appreciate the Acting Clerk of the House and the Secretariat for the support at ensuring the timely completion of the report,” it added.

__________________________ Join us on WhatsApp ______________________________

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *