Ex-INEC boss, Jega, appointed Kano varsity chancellor

INEC Needs To Be Unbundled – Jega

The Kano State Executive Council has appointed the former Independent National Electoral Commission chairman, Prof. Attahiru Jega, as the Pro-Chancellor/Chairman of the Governing Council of the state-owned Sa’adatu Rimi University of Education, Kumbotso.

The council also appointed Oba Dr Moshood Aliiwo, as the Chancellor of the university.


The state’s Commissioner for Information and Internal Affairs, Malam Muhammad Garba, announced the appointments after the state’s Executive Council meeting.

He explained that the approval was given after the National Universities Commission recognized the institution as the 61st state university and the 222nd university in the Nigerian university system.


Garba said the appointments were in accordance with Part III Section 22 of the Sa’adatu Rimi University of Education Kumbotso Law.


Malam Garba explained, “Sections 1, 2 and 3 of the second schedule of the law provides that ‘the visitor, Governor Abdullahi Umar Ganduje shall appoint the Chancellor, Pro-Chancellor/Chairman of the council and external members of the council.”

He said the appointment of the Pro-Chancellor and External council members would be for four years, renewable for a second and final tenure of another four years.


Garba noted that the council also approved the appointment of principal officers by the visitor, Dr Abdullahi Umar Ganduje.

Ex-INEC boss, Jega, appointed Kano varsity chancellor
Ex-INEC boss, Jega, appointed Kano varsity chancellor

The appointed officers included Prof. Isa Yahaya Bunkure as the Provost of Sa’adatu Rimi College of Education, Kumbotso, and Vice Chancellor of Sa’adatu Rimi University of Education.


Others are Dr Kabiru Ahmad Gwarzo as Deputy Provost (Academics), Deputy Vice-Chancellor; Dr Miswaru Bello as Deputy Provost (Administration), Deputy Vice-Chancellor; Saminu Bello Zubairu as Registrar, Kumbotso, Registrar; Ibrahim Muhammad Yahaya as Bursar, Bursar and Mabruka Abubakar Abba as College Librarian.

The appointment of the Vice Chancellor, Registrar, Bursar and Librarian will be for five years, while the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) and the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration) will have a tenure of two years each.

__________________________ Join us on WhatsApp ______________________________

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *