List of documents/items FRSC check when they stop your vehicle

List of documents/items FRSC check when they stop your vehicle

The Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC) is the approved government agency with statutory responsibilities for road safety administration in Nigeria.

Founded in 1988 by the military government of General Ibrahim Babangida, the FRSC operates in all Nigerian states as well as the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja and it is the leading agency in Nigeria on road safety administration and management.

Although most states in Nigeria have gone ahead to establish their own traffic management agencies, the FRSC is mandated to ensure the safety of road users, especially on federal roads.

There are six (6) different documents you must have in your vehicle to avoid being stopped by officers according to Boboye Oyeyemi, a corps marshal of the FRSC.

The statutory functions of the FRSC include:

  1. Making the highways safe for motorists and other road users as well as checking the roadworthiness of vehicles and
  2. Recommending works and infrastructures to eliminate or minimize accidents on the highways and educating motorists and members of the public on the importance of road discipline on the highways.

Most Nigerians are usually sacred or angry when they come across FRSC officials on the highway.

Some are not even aware of the documents they ought to possess in case they are asked to provide them by the FRSC officials.

In this piece, these are the lists, documents or items required by FRSC officials when they stop your car:

  1. Driver’s licence

A driver’s license is an official document permitting a specific individual to operate one or more types of motorized vehicles, such as a motorcycle, car, truck, or bus on a public road.

  1. Proof of ownership

It is a document that indicates the title or right to possession and use of the car by the individual.

  1. Insurance certificate

It is a document used to provide information on specific insurance coverage in this case, the car being driven by the driver.

  1. Certificate of roadworthiness

The document is issued after inspection by the Vehicle Inspection Office.

It is a check of the vehicle to ensure that key components have not worn or deteriorated and that the vehicle is safe for normal road use.

  1. Vehicle license A vehicle licence is a document issued in respect of a particular motor vehicle and it is usually valid for one year.

6. C-caution sign

A C-Caution warning sign should be in every car. It is a type of sign which indicates a potential hazard, obstacle, or condition requiring special attention by the roadside.

It must also be visible for other drivers to see even from a distance.

  1. Fire extinguisher

It is a portable device that discharges a jet of water, foam, gas, or other material to extinguish a fire.

The others are (especially for inter-state travel):

  1. Expiry dates on tires
  2. Extra Tyres
  3. Razor blade
  4. Torchlight
  5. First aid kit.

Meanwhile, it was gathered that FRSC announced that the National Identification Number (NIN) will become a compulsory requirement for obtaining a driver’s license, starting from the second quarter of 2021.

This was disclosed via a statement released by the FRSC spokesperson, Bisi Kazeem.

Recall that the FRSC had earlier announced that it would commence enforcing compliance in January 2021 but had to put it on hold after the extension of the NIN registration by the federal government.

Hey! If you are reading this, then you must have read what I published above. Whether you like it or not, is you feeling at the moment. Don't pass it at me. Jo! ma kora momi. A mo, you are free to express yourself by using the comment section below.