Delta women celebrate Akpoti-Uduaghan’s victory, praise judiciary

Delta women celebrate Akpoti-Uduaghan’s victory, praise judiciary

Delta Women on Wednesday congratulated Chief Natasha Akpoti-Uduaghan for her victory at the Tribunal.

They also praised the tribunal for remaining the protector of the oppressed.


A statement issued in Warri by the Delta Women Political Vanguard (DWPV) said Akpoti-Uduaghan’s victory at the tribunal was well deserved as “it is the will of a democratic majority.”

“Your victory at the Tribunal shows that the wonderful people of Kogi Central clearly authorized your candidature.”


The election petition tribunal sitting in Lokoja declared Natasha Akpoti-Uduaghan of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) winner of the February 25 Kogi Central Senatorial election.


It also invalidated the victory of Senator Abubakar Ohere of the All Progressives Congress.

The Tribunal Chairman, Justice K. A. Orjiako, delivered the unanimous judgment of the three-man panel, revealing that Sen. Ohere’s results were inflated in nine polling units in the Ajaokuta Local Government Area.


He added that the Independent National Electoral Commission reduced Natasha’s results in those areas and omitted the results of three other polling units meant for Natasha in the same LGA.

Following the necessary corrections, the court declared Natasha as the winner of the election with 54,074 votes, surpassing Ohere, who garnered 51,291 votes.


The statement signed by the DWPV President General, Chief Alice Umukoro, described the tribunal’s judgement as brilliant and straightforward.

“Your victory is a testimony of your recognition, immense ability and contributions to Kogi State.”


The women thanked the wonderful people of Kogi Central for the confidence reposed on Akpoti-Uduaghan.


The tribunal urged Ohere to pay Akpoti-Uduaghan N500, 000 for the cost of the petition.

__________________________ Join us on WhatsApp ______________________________

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *