Obaseki hail D’Tigress for 4th consecutive AfroBasket victory

Obaseki hail D’Tigress for 4th consecutive AfroBasket victory

The Edo State Governor, Mr. Godwin Obaseki, has congratulated the Nigerian women’s basketball team, D’Tigress for their fourth consecutive Afrobasket victory in Kigali, Rwanda.

The governor, in a statement, hailed the team for their doggedness, courage and staying power, noting that they emerged victorious against all odds.


According to him, “I celebrate Nigeria’s women basketball team, D’Tigress, for their victorious rally in Kigali, Rwanda, where they retained their place as Africa’s most successful women basketball team.

“The team was dogged and competed with passion, ensuring to clinch the top prize despite the challenges along the way. They displayed the indomitable Nigerian spirit and have made us all proud with their performance.”


He added, “Their show of strength and superior firepower serves as an inspiration for young girls across the country, even as they have given a good account of themselves.

“I congratulate the team, the coaching crew, and all those who contributed to their success and wish them even more success in future.”

Obaseki hail D’Tigress for 4th consecutive AfroBasket victory
Obaseki hail D’Tigress for 4th consecutive AfroBasket victory

D’Tigress  defeated Senegal to win the 2023 FIBA Women’s Afrobasket Championship for the fourth consecutive time.

The Rena Wakama- led ladies defeated the 11-time African champions 84-74 to claim their sixth championship at the BK Arena in Kigali, Rwanda on Saturday.

The victory means that D’Tigress will now compete for a spot at the women’s basketball event of the 2024 Olympics.


D’Tigress quickly established their dominance with a nine-point lead at the end of the first quarter.

The Senegalese kept it close in the second quarter with a 24-21 margin for D’Tigress extending their lead to 12 going to the halftime break.

Rena Wakama is the first female coach to win the Afrobasket championship.


Coming out for the second half, Senegal played with more urgency and were able to take the third quarter 26-19 reducing the deficit to five.

The fourth quarter was back and forth between the two best teams of the tournament as Senegal continued to close the gap but D’Tigress took it to win the game by 10 points.

The Lionesses have now lost to the D’Tigress in four Afrosbasket finals (2005, 2017, 2019, and 2023).


For newly appointed D’Tigress Head Coach, Rena Wakama, she became the first woman to lead a team to the Afrobasket title.


Nigeria’s Amy Okonkwo who finished the final with 23 points, 10 rebounds, and 2 assists, was named the Most Valuable Player of the tournament.

Follow Us On Telegram __________________________ Join us on WhatsApp ______________________________

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *