Breaking News


As you go to vote on Saturday, 22nd, here is a brief history of corruption records in the history of Nigeria.

1. 1960-1966:
       Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa - no public funds stolen.

2. 1966
       Major Gen. Aguyi Ironsi - no public funds stolen.

3. 1966-1975:
      Gen. Yakubu Gowon - little stealing of  public funds began gradually.

4. 1975-1976: 
     Gen. Murtala Muhammad - zero tolerance for  corruption and indiscipline.

5. 1976-1979:
     Gen. Olusegun  Obasanjo- Military  egg heads started owning huge  properties, oil Blocs      running into Millions of dollars.

6. 1979-1983:
      Alhaji Shehu Shagari-  looting galore by Ministers, party functionaries and other government big

7. 1984-1985:
      Major Gen. Muhammadu Buhari-  zero tolerance for  corruption and indiscipline.  Some corrupt
      politicians bagged 200 years jail terms.

8. 1985-1993:
      Gen Ibrahim Babangida- freed all jailed politicians; liberalized the  architecture.  In one fell swoop  about $12 Billion  varnished.  He is called the father of corruption.

9. 1993-1998:
      Gen. Sani Abacha- over $25 Billion  looted in four  turbulent years.

10. 1998- 1999:
        Gen. Abdulsalam Abubakar- about $2 Billion looted in 11 months.

11. 1999- 2007:
        Chief Olusegun  Obasanjo- His Bank  account is said to  have grown from  N20,000 after
        leaving prison to  Multi-Billion dollars  with choice  properties across  major cities. $16
       Billion allegedly   meant for electric power projects  vanished. Another  N300 Billion [$2b] for
       roads disappeared.

12. 2007-2010:
        Alhaji Umar  Yar'Adua- reserved  and sick. Looted  funds have not been traced to his regime.

to be continued...

No comments

Disclaimer: Comments on any part of this website are strictly the opinions of this Blog readers/commenters or any anonymous person and do not represent the opinion of GBETU TV.


Email- [email protected]
Call/Whatsapp: +2349074333435